Sometimes Sunday nights can be like the film room after a football game. i find myself rewinding the day trying to determine what went well, what didn’t go well, what could be improved, and what needs to be left alone. Last night was one of those nights. i feel like Nick and the band did an excellent job of leading us into the presence of God with every element of the worship set yesterday. I was very pleased with the first gathering and greatly enjoyed teaching about the what God is like. But then the second gathering happened, and my mic decided to go haywire. It seemed as though every time I felt like I was trying to make a crucial point the blooming thing malfunctioned. It was very distracting to me, and I assumed others. I became aware of some very important lessons yesterday.
1. i learned that it is not about me. Now bear with me. I’ve known for a long time that it isn’t about me. I’m not that talented, that special, or that good for anything to be about me. In fact I am keenly aware that it is in spite of me. However, I still often feel as though I am playing a small part in all that goes on on Sunday. Yesterday I learned that God speaks even when i am flustered, or even down right frustrated. It isn’t about me, it’s about Him and He can pursue His glory any way He wishes.
2. I learned that God can use anything to get people’s attention. I actually had one person tell me that it helped him pay attention wondering when the mic would mess up again.
3. Distractions can be detrimental. This is true in every arena of life. Cell phones have become a leading reason for automobile accidents-they distract us. Fun often distracts us from responsibility. I must admit that the tool the enemy uses most to derail me is distraction. I can become distracted by the imminent and miss the important. I can address the squeaky wheel and miss the person crying out for help. I am very easily distracted. Perhaps yesterday can serve as a reminder to shut out the distractions and hear God.

